Kagi Shrine Purification Pavilion

Travel in Chiayi

Kagi Shrine Purification Pavilion

After the water supply had been cut off and it had dried up for almost half a century, the Kagi Shrine Water Ablution Pavilion, also called “chōzuya or temizuya”, finally has been filled with water again! The pavilion is situated in front of the Chiayi City Historical Relic Museum. The Kagi Shrine has a history which dates back to 1911: back then Japanese people built this shrine amongst other things, in order to promote Shinto, which was a traditional religion of Japan, and to expand the imperialist movement. The Kagi Shrine is divided into two generations. The first-generation shrine was opened in 1915. Its location is in front of the Chiayi Tower on its right-hand side. Later, the second-generation shrine was built because of the large number of people visiting the shrine.

The whole site includes the historical remains of the first-generation shrine, the holy storehouse, the water ablution pavilion, a rest house, a purification hall and a main office.

The purification pavilion of the second-generation Kagi Shrine was first put in use in 1945, it is an independent four-column construction; in the center there is an octagonal spillway trough, in which there is a built-in stone tray, equipped with a long-handled water scoop. It can be used by the worshippers to wash their hands and rinse their mouths to achieve a cleansing effect.

In order to protect the historic site, the pavilion is connected with running water equipped with a sensor to automatically discharge water, allowing visitors to experience the purification rite of hand-washing and mouth-rinsing as if they were visiting a Japanese Shinto shrine. We hope that after being filled with water again, more people can get a better understanding of the culture and history of the Kagi Shinto Shrine when visiting the Chiayi City Historical Relic Museum.


Address: No.122, Minquan E. Rd., East Dist., Chiayi City 600, Taiwan (R.O.C.)
Tel: (05)229-4593
Share:
Gallery
Map location
Prev Next

嘉义神社手水舍

嘉义观光旅游网

嘉义神社手水舍

停水干涸将近半世纪的嘉义神社「手水舍」复水了!位于嘉义市史迹资料馆对面的手水舍,嘉义神社的历史源自1911年,当年日人为了提倡日本国家神道,推展皇民化的运动,嘉义厅积极筹建嘉义神社。嘉义神社分为两代,第一代神社于1915年启用,其位置在现在射日塔的右前方,当时因参拜人数多,空间不敷使用而另建第二代神社。

整体古迹范围包含第一代神社遗迹、祭器库、手水舍、休憩所(参集所)、斋馆及社务所等附属馆所。

第二代嘉义神社的手水舍于1945年启用,为独立的四柱庭建筑,中央有八角形溢水槽,槽内置石盘一口,配置长柄水勺,提供参拜者洗手和漱口之用,以达到净身净心的效果。

为了保护古迹,引接自来水并加装感应设施自动出水,让游客体验到访日本神社时的净身漱口步骤,希望复水后让更多民众参观嘉义市史迹资料馆时,对神社的历史文化有更多的认识。

联络地址: 嘉义市东区民权路122号
联络电话: (05)229-4593
分享:
照片花絮
地图位置
上一页 下一页