Chiayi in Painting

Travel in Chiayi

"Self-Portrait", 1928
Favorites

In Tan Ting-pho's "Self-Portrait" (1928), he was 33 years-old. In his four years of studies in Japan, his painting techniques matured and two landscape paintings depicting his homeland were selected to enter the top art exhibition of Japan. After this self-portrait was completed, Tan's artistic career expanded to southern China and subsequently returned to Chiayi. Until February 28, 1947, the artist expressed his passion for the land through his oil paintings and created Chiayi Park on his canvas, until they reached every beautiful corner of Taiwan.

"Chiayi Park (1)", 1937
Favorites

"Chiayi Park (1)" was painted by the artist after he returned to Taiwan from Shanghai in 1937. The piece was originally named after the pond in the painting as "Biantian Pond". In the center of the pond, flame trees stand tall like umbrellas, enfolding the entire scene in the image. The curving and extending branches are as lively as moving limbs, expressing a flourishing vitality. It is originally a plant from the tropics, but instead of the crimson tropical vibrancy, neat patterns formed by lines in the Chinese ink painting style adorn the scene. Muscovy ducks, swans and red-crowned cranes symbolize different cultural elements, but they have been incorporated in a fantastical whimsy in a corner of the pond in  Chiayi park, to create the artist's ideal landscape.

"Chiayi Park (3)", 1939
Favorites

This panoramic view is a scene from a corner of Chiayi Park. The perspective extends from near to far but without much reduction of the details, almost as if it's the view of a curious child eager to explore every corner he can see. Within the landscaped garden, the meandering river and the roads are systematically interspersed to form a complex scenery together with the twisting tree branches. Forests and trees have always been a major secondary theme in the works of Tan Ting-pho. The wide array of vibrant plants in the painting are scenes only available in a modernized park, perhaps it was also a theme that the artist wished to express.

"Chiayi Park (4)", year unknown
Favorites

Tan Ting-pho created rough brush strokes in oil on the wooden board so that in between the branches and the greenery, the sudden glimpse of the red Torii Gate and Sacred Bridge can guide the viewer's line of sight to the other side of the pond. Wooden boards were one of the painting base materials often used by Tan. The artist enjoyed painting outdoors and emphasized that "research should be done first, then gain an understanding of the spirit of the era and the features of the locale of the painting site". Tan went to a corner of the park and took out a small wooden board from his painting kit. The artist's paintbrushes captured the natural scenery in front of his eyes and left behind a rare image of the Biantian Pond landscape.

"Chiayi Park Scenery", 1934
Favorites

Parents and children who came to the park would often stop in front of the railings and watch the monkeys play. In the Japanese colonial era, some sections of the park included animal pens to provide additional entertainment for the visitors. This type of animal exhibition can be seen as the forerunner of zoos in Taiwan. X ray investigations carried out in 2015 revealed another painting of a nude woman under the painting. Why was the park scenery used to replace a painting of a nude woman? Only the artist knows the answer.

"Chiayi Park Corner Scenery", 1934
Favorites

The lake, lawn, bushes, tree crowns, and the large area of greenery take up most of the painting. The harmonious landscape and colors attracted the attention of the artist. and he re-created the pond and forest in the park corner into a lovely symphony of art on the canvas. The artist had once said, "My studio is in nature." It was Tan's habit to move the easel to the outdoors, probably also to immerse and enjoy himself in the colorful and vibrant world of nature.

"Children's Amusement Park", 1946
Favorites

Even though only photos in black and white have survived, in the scene, the bygone days' amusement park arched entrance and ticket booth to the right, as well as visitors walking hand in hand can still be seen clearly. In Tan Ting-pho's works, the people are often shown in pairs of father and son or mother and son, expressing the artist's interest in parent-child themes. After the war, this painting was sold to the Minister of Education of that time at the first provincial exhibition. Its subsequent whereabouts are unknown. Perhaps this artwork is still hidden somewhere in Taiwan, waiting for the day of its re-discovery.

"Pygmy Water-Lily", year unknown
Favorites

This artwork differs from the other works centered around the theme of Chiayi Park. This painting on a wooden board depicts the lily leaves in the small pond, the ripples on the water, and the pile of rocks in the center of the pond. Under the water, a group of yellow-brown fish appear to be getting ready to swim away. At the beginning of the 20th century, the French artist Monet's skillful works depicting lilies had already become internationally renowned. Tan Ting-pho certainly had also come across his works during his studies overseas. When he carefully portrayed the play of light and shadows on the water, perhaps he also remembered the masterful techniques of Monet in his depiction of ponds.

"Chiayi Park - Path in front of the Shinto Shrine", year unknown
Favorites

The path to the entrance of the Shinto Shrine is straight and neat, while the leafy trees on either side of the path provide shade to the passers-by. The trees on the left-hand side of the path twist this way and that, but street lights and utility poles stand tall and straight among the trees. The stone lantern and the Torii Gate in the distance mark the way to the entrance of the Shinto Shrine. A little further in lies the boundary between profane and sacred. In this painting, Tan Ting-pho used simple lines to hint at the existence of the Shinto Shrine. But what he is actually trying to express is the co-existence of modern objects and traditional culture as a part of Taiwan's natural landscape.

Tropic of Cancer Post
Favorites

Towering over the West Coast Rail Line which runs north to south along Taiwan’s west coast, the commemorative obelisk symbolizes the glory of the Japanese Empire and bears inscriptions which condense the uniqueness of its southland territory of Taiwan into two columns of scientific description. It is precisely these numbers, or rather this latitude, 23°27’4” N, which has nurtured the diverse landscapes of Formosa. The lush mountain forests, deep blue waters, and open fields illuminated by the bright sun—all the myriad landscapes of this island lying along the Tropic of Cancer—are represented in exquisite color in Chen Cheng-po’s artwork.

Self Portrait (2)
Favorites

Chen Cheng-po beams with self-confidence; behind him, Chinese hibiscus flowers bloom in brilliant summer colors. Within the world of oil painting, the 35-year-old artist had found an ideal mode of self-expression.When Chen moved from Japan to Shanghai, his artistic career entered a new stage. In Shanghai, he found new subject matter for landscape paintings and absorbed the fundamental concepts and techniques of traditional Chinese painting. The confidence and anticipation he then felt for the future is perhaps visible in this self-portrait.

Tropic of Cancer Landmark
Favorites

While on summer vacation from his studies in Japan, Chen Cheng-po returned to Chiayi and visited the Tropic of Cancer monument just outside the city. The structure which he had depicted with watercolors a few years earlier had been torn down and a brand-new structure stood in its place. Chen decided to take on this new man-made marvel with a different medium: oil paint. Like David taking aim with his slingshot at Goliath, the artist peered up at the giant landmark and considered how best to use the paints in his paint box to subdue his adversary.

Accumulated Snow on Jade Mountain
Favorites

Patches of burnt copper earth, foothills cloaked in lush green foliage, high mountaintops etched with white jade, and a foreboding, deep-blue sky—these elements compose an ode to the natural world. Each layer of thick paint adds to the profound grandeur of forest and mountain, earth and sky.Swift, vigorous brushstrokes coat the canvas in mercurial colors. This painting does not recite a long, drawn-out tale, but rather a succinct, pithy poem whose verses exalt the splendor of Mount Jade. In the radiant white pinnacle rising into the heavens, we can almost visualize the very soul of this island.

Lumber Factory
Favorites

Railroad tracks, factory buildings, smokestacks, steel cables, colossal cement structures, and loudly whirring machinery—all of these modern marvels comprised Chiayi’s lumber factory, often referred to as “East Asia’s Finest.” By the early 1920s, Chiayi had grown into a thriving metropolis after substantial investment in its lumber industry. The central force behind this great transformation was none other than the lumber factory on the town’s northern outskirts.This watercolor painting bears witness to the tremendous changes which Chiayi underwent during Chen Cheng-po’s youth.

Sawmill
Favorites

Even though the vibrancy of the original oil painting is somewhat lost, a vivid and energetic scene emerges from this yellowed photograph. The pulleys on the crane spin swiftly round as workers use long poles to grapple with the unprocessed logs floating in the pond. Wartime had only just ended, but the sawmill is thriving and in full operation, with enormous logs piled high across the entire mill yard.This sawmill in Chiayi was a setting which Chen Cheng-po visited and painted at the beginning and end of his career as an artist. Studying these two works closely, can you perceive any differences?

Xihuifang
Favorites

In the shade cast by a grand leafy tree, pedestrians stroll past peddlers’ carts loaded with fruits and frozen treats, enticing them to enjoy some refreshment from the scorching heat of this tropical island. Three women wearing different kinds of cultural dress—kimono, cheongsam, and Western—walk quietly past one another in the city street. The most familiar silhouette in this locale, however, is that of the humble laborer, slightly stooped under the weight of his shoulder pole. Within this scene of a tranquil afternoon in front of Xihuifang lie hidden clues which reveal small tidbits about life at the time.

City God Festival in Lunar August
Favorites

Rollicking groups of performers parade into the center of the canvas, which has been transformed into a profusion of colors—red, yellow, orange, and green. Looking at the chaotic mingled shapes, we can almost feel the bustling of the crowd and hear the cacophony of percussion instruments and voices.In 1929, Chen Cheng-po left for Shanghai to teach art, but sometimes returned home for summer vacation, in which case he could experience the City God Inspection Tour that took place each year at the beginning of the eighth lunar month. To Chen, this grand ceremony was a symbol of his hometown and the local folk culture. It was also, of course, an excellent subject for his paintings.

City God Festival
Favorites

The crowd bursts into cheers as performers on stilts walk nimbly by. These spectators watch wide-eyed, not wanting to miss a single moment of the excitement. They lift their heads, gleefully watching the parade, but the painter lowers his own, gazing at his pencil as it flits across the paper.Sketchy pencil marks overlaid with simple watercolors reveal a glimpse of a temple festival. Sketchbook in hand, Chen Cheng-po joined the swelling crowds to take part in the 1933 City God Inspection Tour and created this rare pictorial record of his hometown’s traditional festivities.

Doing Washing
Favorites

Immersed in the task of handwashing laundry, women crouch over the edge of a riverbank, their reflections mirrored in the surface of the clear shallow water. Working next to each other, they share and exchange tidbits of local news and neighborhood gossip. Children who have come with their mothers wait along the water’s edge, ready to jump in and splash around.This painting rekindles fond memories of washing clothes by the riverside, memories which are shared by many in Taiwan’s elder generation. Looking at this painting, you can almost hear the women’s chatter and laughter mingled with the splashing of the water.

Mild Winter at Mt. Jade
Favorites

The white snow blanketing the high mountain peaks hints at the approach of winter, but Chiayi is still bathed in warm sunlight. Sunshine streaming in from behind the wall casts a long shadow across the courtyard, where two people enjoy the balmy weather, their faces baked red from the sun. An atmosphere of carefree relaxation characterizes this scene.Nearly all of Chen Cheng-po’s paintings of his hometown Chiayi radiate warmth. What colors and impressions come to mind when you think of your own hometown?

Looking towards Chiayi
Favorites

A profusion of green flows throughout this vast landscape; it crawls up tree trunks and curls into verdant, wing-like branches. Similar to notes in a musical suite, different layers of bright, lively yellow-greens and darker, more somber jade-greens are woven into a resplendent composition. In the distance, a large building is ornamented with flecks of glimmering blue-green, like a precious stone nestled in a jeweled setting.The sea of green extends out to the aquamarine sky, half-shrouded by white clouds at the horizon. Gazing out over his city, Chen Cheng-po poured his heartfelt love into this work, creating a beautiful, engaging landscape abundant in life and cheer.

Chiayi Countryside
Favorites

Infused with a quiet pastoral ambiance, this peaceful tableau in fact bustles with scenic details and bucolic vignettes. A woman in a farmyard, back turned to the viewer, serves as the focal point for the entire work. Surrounded by chickens, children, and clothing racks, she works diligently to complete her daily tasks. Beyond her rustic farmhouse stands a modernized cattle ranch and pasture for grazing. Triangular rooftops point upwards towards rolling hills and distant mountains, creating a sense of perpetual undulating movement. Towering above all, the magnificent Mount Jade rises prominently into view. What did this mountain, which appeared over and over again in Chen Cheng-po’s works, symbolize for the artist?

Mt. Jade from Afar
Favorites

As if freshly squeezed out of a paint tube, thick squiggles and glossy whorls of color animate the grassy slope and add a lively depth to the leafy thicket of trees behind. Frenetic brushstrokes flood the foreground with movement and vitality. Beyond the trees and green rolling hills, up where the hawks glide, a chain of mountains rises majestically in the distance. Painted in a flatter, smoother style, the brilliant snow-capped peaks of Mt. Jade evoke a sense of deep serenity.Looking eastward from the outskirts of Chiayi, Chen Cheng-po carefully arranged the vast expanse before his eyes—landscapes near and far—into a single exquisite composition.

Outside Chiayi Street (3)
Favorites

A shallow irrigation canal leads to a street, farther along and at the edge of which the upturned arc of a temple roof punctuates the sky. A year prior to the completion of this painting, Chen Cheng-po’s masterpiece depicting the same scene was selected for the Imperial Exhibition and introduced his hometown to Japanese art aficionados. In comparison with the earlier work, this painting reflects the influence of modernization, the landscape visibly more neat and orderly. Perhaps gazing at the streets of Chiayi from a distance, Chen chose once more to paint this scene in order to leave a record of the transformations underway in his beloved city.

Countryside
Favorites

A mother and daughter stroll hand in hand down a winding mountain path, but will soon disappear around a bend. Just ahead, an older man carrying a shoulder pole walks towards them with slow, measured steps. In the distance, parallel rows of crops and footpaths trace tidy lines up a broad hillside dotted with laborers at work. This painting evokes such a rosy pastoral serenity that you can almost imagine yourself walking down the path and enjoying the gentle breeze stirring in the treetops.

Chiayi Street Scene
Favorites

A modern office building rises above the city street, creating an interesting contrast with the surrounding wooden houses and traditional storefronts. Around the building, rays of light begin to softly illuminate the scene, paving the street with a warm, yellow glow. A tall tree in the foreground stretches open its branches to form a curtain of leafy shade, as if to offer passersby respite from the brilliant heat. If you try to imagine yourself walking down this Chiayi street, perhaps its warmth will envelop you, too.

Early Autumn
Favorites

Geometric contours intersect and overlap in this picturesque corner of town. An assortment of architectural structures— neighborhood temples with upswept roofs, wooden homes with pitched roofs, and quaint cottages with Western allure—complement one another, creating a pleasing cadence that flows throughout this peaceful tableau. The branches of a broad-leaved tree stretch powerfully upwards and outwards, encircling the rooftops with lush green vegetation. Although autumn has already begun to set in, this southern Taiwanese scene is still bursting with vitality. Gazing out past the balustrade—past the clothes hung out to dry on the wooden rack—can’t you feel the soothing tranquility of this little world?

画嘉义

嘉义观光旅游网

「自画像」1928年年
收藏

自画像(1928)里的陈澄波,时年33岁。赴日留学的四年时光里,他的绘画 技艺渐臻成熟,两件描绘故乡的风景画也被选入日本最顶尖的美术展览。完成这 幅自画像之后,陈澄波的绘画生涯还将延伸到中国南方,继而返回嘉义。直到 1947年的2月28日来临以前,这位画家将他对于土地的热情灌注在油彩之中, 挥洒成画布里的嘉义公园,乃至于台湾的每一个美丽角落。

「嘉义公园(一)」1937年
收藏

这幅1937年由上海回台后所画的《嘉义公圜(一)》,最初以画中池塘为名《辨 天池》。池塘中央的凤凰木亭亭如伞盖,包覆着画面里一切景物。曲折伸展的枝 叶宛若肢体跃动,传达出旺盛的生命力。原是代表南国的树种,却没有满树红艳 的热带气氛,反倒呈现出中国水墨画般的线条律动。番鸭、天鹅与丹顶鹤,象征 着不同的文化元素,奇幻地融揉在嘉义公园的一方池塘里,构成了画家心目中的 理想风景。

「嘉义公园(三)」1939年
收藏

这幅全景画收集起嘉义公园里的角落风景,视线由近到远,细节却不怎么减 省,仿佛好奇的孩子亟欲探索每个可触及的角落。人工造景的公园里,蜿蜒的溪 流与道路有计画地纵横蜿蜒,与树木的枝条曲折交错成复杂的风景。林木一向是 陈澄波画作当中着重表现的一个子题,画中草木的样态缤纷,是现代化的公园才 能见到的奇景,或许也是画家意欲表现的主题。

「嘉义公园(四)」年代不详
收藏

陈澄波在木板上画出粗略的油彩线条,让树木枝干与一片绿意当中,蓦然出 现红色的鸟居与神桥,带领观者的视线前往池水的彼岸。木板是陈澄波经常使用 的基底材,这位喜好在户外写生的画家,着重的是「事先研究、吟味所画场所的 时代精神,该地的特征」。走进公园角落,从画箱抽出一小块木板,陈澄波的画 笔捕捉了眼前的自然世界,也为弁天池畔的风景留下难得的图像纪录。

「嘉义公园一景」1934年
收藏

手牵着手来到公园里的父母亲与孩子们驻足于栏杆前,好奇地关注猴子们的 一举一动。日治时期,有一部分的公圜会增设画中的动物廄舍,为游人提供额外 的游憩机能,这类型的动物展示,亦可视作现代动物圜在台湾的前身。 2015年, 这幅画曾在X光检查当中,发现画布底层隐藏着另一件裸女画作。为什么要以公 圜风景取代裸女图像呢?恐怕得问问画家才知道了。

「嘉义公园一角」1934年
收藏

湖面、草皮、树丛与树冠,大片的绿意占满了这幅作品。是眼前景物的色彩 和谐吸引了画家的目光,他将公圜角落的池畔与树林,在画布上铺展成美妙的艺 然协奏曲。曾自言「我的画室是在大自然里」,习惯把画架搬到户外的陈澄波, 或许也徜徉在这片缤纷多彩的自然世界里吧。

「儿童乐园」1946年
收藏

尽管只余黑白照片,在画面里,依然可以清楚见到旧时儿童乐园的拱门与右 侧的售票亭,以及手牵着手准备走进乐圜的诸多游客。陈澄波画作当中的点景人 物,时常出现父与子或母与子的配对,表现出画家对亲情主题的关注。战后,这 幅画在第一届省展当中,卖给当时的教育处长,其后辗转不知所终。或许这件作 品目前仍藏身在台湾的某个角落,等待着重见天日的时刻。

「睡莲」年代不详
收藏

不同于其他的嘉义公圜主题作品,这件木板画专注于描绘小池塘里的莲叶, 以及水面上的波纹与池塘中央的石堆。水面下,褐黄色的鱼群似乎正准备四散游 动。 20世纪初期,擅画睡莲的法国画家莫内已然蜚声国际,陈澄波一定也曾在 留学期间接触过他的作品。在他仔细描绘着这幅画的水面光影时,或许也会想起 莫内描绘水塘的精彩技艺吧?

「嘉义公园-神社前步道」年代不详
收藏

通往神社的门口道路平直而齐整,两旁的绿树则为步道上的人们提供了遮荫。道路左侧的树干各自曲折,树丛中却矗立着笔直的路灯与电线杆。远处的石灯笼 与鸟居标志着神社的人口处,再向前走去,就要穿越人境与神境的分界。在这幅 画里,陈澄波利用了简单的线条暗示神社的存在,但他更想要表达的,似乎是现 代事物与传统文化,如何并存于台湾的自然风景当中。

北回归线立标
收藏

方锥状的标志矗立在纵贯铁道旁,高耸的纪念性建物象征着帝国的荣耀,同时也将南国台湾的特色浓缩为两行科学化的描述。 「北纬二十三度二十七分四秒」,正是这些数字,孕育了福尔摩沙岛上丰饶的多样性。缘此而生的蓊郁的山,碧蓝的海,艳阳下的原野,北回归线上这座岛屿的万千风景,都将在陈澄波的画里,表现出绝美的颜色。

自画像(二)
收藏

画里的陈澄波焕发着自信,夏日的扶桑花也在他身后绽放出灿烂的色彩。关于自己,这位35岁的画家在油彩的世界里,发现了一种理想的表达方式。从日本来到上海,陈澄波的艺术生涯进入了另一个阶段。在那里,他吸收了中国传统绘画的概念与技法,并且找到了与以往不同的风景题材。这幅自画像,或许也表现了他对未来的信心与期盼。

北回归线地标
收藏

或许是趁着暑假返台,陈澄波再度走进了嘉义市郊的那片原野,来到北回归线标志的所在。数年前他以水彩描绘的标塔,已被改造成崭新的模样,而今天,他准备要以不同的绘画技法,再次挑战这个人造的现代奇景。像是大卫与哥利亚的对决,画家站在巨大的标塔前方,审视着画箱里的颜料管。他该如何运用手中的油彩,收服这个对手呢?

玉山积雪
收藏

赭红色的土地,蓊郁苍翠的峰峦,覆盖山脉的珂雪,静寂而晦暗的深蓝色天幕,沉邃庄严的气韵,淀积于一层层厚重的油彩之中,堆叠成画家对自然世界的崇敬与礼赞。简劲的笔触蕴藏着多变的色彩。这幅画中,陈澄波诉说的不再是悠长的故事,而是语言凝练的一首诗。诗句里的玉山卓然屹立,洁白的光芒里,仿佛能望见岛屿的气韵神魂。

木材工厂
收藏

铁轨、工厂、烟囱、缆线,巨大的水泥建筑与轰隆作响的机械──号称「东洋第一」的嘉义制材场集合了种种现代化的奇观。 1920年代初期,整个嘉义以木材产业为核心,逐渐发展成繁荣的大都市。城北近郊的制材场,则是促成这一切改变的动力来源。陈澄波的少年时代,嘉义经历了巨大的改变。这幅水彩画,或许可以看作一种历史的见证。

制材工厂
收藏

泛黄的旧照片虽然失去了油彩的颜色,画面里的风景却依旧生动鲜明。起重机上的滑轮正飞快旋动,手持长竿的工人们则与池中的木块奋力搏斗。巨大的原木堆满了整个厂区,即便战争才刚刚结束,工厂却是一派繁盛欣荣。在绘画生涯的初始与末尾,陈澄波都曾来到嘉义制材场作画。仔细比较这两件作品,你又看见了哪些不一样的变化呢?

西荟芳
收藏

南国艳阳下,枝叶繁茂的大树给往来行人提供了一方遮荫,满载果物、贩卖冰品的摊车,似也提示着热带岛屿的气候炎炽。和服、旗袍、洋装,将不同文化脉络穿着为衣裳的三个女人,在市街里交穿而过。挑着担子微微佝偻的劳动者,则是这片土地上最常见的朴拙身影。西荟芳的午后宁静安好,但画中暗藏的语汇其实各自有声,各自低吟。

八月城隍祭典
收藏

红色、黄色、橙色、绿色……热闹滚滚的游行队列走进了画布当中,转化成五彩缤纷的色块,我们仿佛也能够从混杂纷乱的线条里,感受到街上的人群杂沓与金鼓喧嚣。自1929年远赴上海教书的陈澄波,若趁着暑假返乡,总会碰上每年八月初的城隍绕境。对他而言,这场民俗文化的盛典是故乡的代表性风景,也是他必定不会错过的创作主题。

城隍祭典
收藏

游行队伍爆出了热烈喝采,踩着高跷的表演者身姿灵动,惹得人们瞪大了眼睛,深怕错过任何精彩时刻。围观群众总是兴奋地昂首张望,而画家却低着头,在纸页上奋笔疾行。凌乱的铅笔线条敷上简单的水彩颜色,便是一帧庙会即景。带着素描本走进汹涌的人群之中,陈澄波不仅参与了1933年的城隍绕境,也为家乡风土留下难得的图像纪录。

洗衣
收藏

清浅的水流畔,妇人们蹲低身子使劲地搓揉衣衫,如镜的水面上倒映出勤劳的身影。村里新闻、家庭琐事,也趁着肩并肩的洗濯劳动,在这个小小角落里流通交换。而在她们身旁,跟着母亲来到洗衣场的孩子,正要踩进水里恣肆嬉戏。水边浣衣的场景是台湾乡土的亲切记忆,凝视这幅画,仿佛能听见水花泼溅,在岸上的谈笑声中轻轻响起。

玉山暖冬
收藏

覆盖在山脉上的雪白提示了冬日的降临,但画境里的嘉义,仍有温煦的阳光。日头在围墙的背面拉出了长长的影子,也在画境里漫成了悠闲安适的氛围。暖洋洋的空气里,人们的脸孔,似乎也被烘成了红通通的颜色。在陈澄波的画布上,故乡嘉义这块土地,多半散发着温热的气息。而对你来说,家乡的印象与颜色,又会是什么样子的呢?

展望诸罗城
收藏

绿色在辽阔的土地里四处漫流,在树干上旋转成丰满的羽翼。亮黄的、碧翠的、阴郁的、明快的,深浅层次繁复的绿,谱成一首华丽的组曲。远处的楼房点缀着几许与众不同的青绿,像隐藏在画里的宝石,闪动着微光。连绵的绿色浪涛接连着地平线上的蓝天白云,展望故乡的风景,陈澄波将心底的感受,铺展为一幅繁盛而欢快的美丽图画。

嘉义郊外
收藏

宁静的乡间气氛却挤满了景物细节,一幅画仿佛有说不尽的故事。院落里,妇人的背影是整件作品的焦点。围绕在周遭的鸡群、孩子与晾衣架,都提示了她的默默劳动与辛勤付出。古朴农家的后方是现代化的牧场,三角形的屋顶接连着远方山峦,营造出高低起伏的连绵动势。而高耸的玉山总是屹立在陈澄波的画作里,它究竟象征了什么呢?

玉山远眺
收藏

彩管挤溢出的厚重颜料,点缀成草坡上的景物,擦旋成繁茂的树丛。线条在前景里四处跃动,显得生机蓬勃。但若抬头遥望,平涂而成的远景当中,却见玉山壮峙,苍鹰浮掠。山头上的皓然白雪,映照出幽深渺远的气氛。从嘉义郊外远眺新高山顶,陈澄波仔细吟味两个境界的风景印象,将眼前所见的广远辽阔,安排成一件精致小巧的作品。

嘉义街外(三)
收藏

沟渠接连着道路,庙檐上的翘脊在街边勾成醒目的弧形,展开在陈澄波眼前的风景,就是他曾经透过绘画介绍到日本的故乡样貌。相较于早前那件获选帝展的杰作,在这幅画里,现代化的作用力,似乎更进一步地形塑了秩序的齐整。遥望着远方的嘉义市街,陈澄波再次完成了一件相仿的风景画,或许也是为这座城市的转变,留下某种纪录。

田园
收藏

母亲牵着孩子的手,慢悠悠地走下山坡。再过一会,两人的身影便要没入小径的转角。前头,挑着扁担的阿伯踩着沉稳的步伐,正准备与母女俩错身而过。遥望远方,平行排列的田埂与农作物画出了齐整的线条,其间还点缀着一些辛勤劳动的身影。画里的田园气氛宁静而祥和,我们仿佛也能走到画中的那条小径,感受吹拂树梢的徐徐微风。

嘉义街景
收藏

新式楼房矗立在市街当中,与邻近的木头房子、传统店屋形成有趣的对比。建筑物的周围,阳光徐徐降落,在地面上铺成大片的暖黄。沐浴在温热的光线里,画中的一切景物也映现出和煦可爱的颜色。近景一株大树伸展成蓬幕,仿佛要为街上的人群提供遮荫。闭上眼睛,试着走进陈澄波的画境里,或许,你也能触摸到属于这片土地的温度。

初秋
收藏

城镇角落的风景里,几何线条相互交错,庙宇的翘脊、木造房舍的山形顶、西洋风味的小屋……各种各样的建筑物,构成了韵律起伏有致的美妙画面。阔叶树的枝干有力地伸展,绿荫环绕着画境,即便是初秋时节的南国,依旧表现出旺盛的自然生命力。衣衫静静晾晒在木架子上,望着栏杆外的小世界,你是否也感受到安适与悠闲的气氛呢?