Lord Land Nunnery from Mt. Chiu Hua

Travel in Chiayi

Lord Land Nunnery from Mt. Chiu Hua

Immersed in Incense Smoke- Lord Land Nunnery from Mt. Chiu Hua

The old name of Lord Land Nunnery from Mt. Chiu Hua is Chiayi Lord Land Nunnery of Northern Mountain Palace- Lord Land Nunnery from Mt. Chiu Hua.

The main hall of Lord Land Nunnery from Mt. Chiu Hua enshrines Ksitigarbha Bodhisattva and the Dasiong Hall houses the Sakyamuni Buddha. The front court hosts a Taishuei Shrine and Wenchang Shrine. The Dabei Hall enshrines Bodhisattva Guanyin, and the Mituo Hall houses Amitabha. The Yaoshi Hall enshrines the Buddha of Medicine, Bhaisajyaguru, and the Dayuan Hall at the top floor is home to four Lord Land Nunnery statues. The main statue of the Lord Land Nunnery was said to have been built by Koji pottery master, Ye Wang. The solemn air expressed on his holy face beams out infinite mercy. Legend has it that he often appeared in various images to help and protect the villagers; therefore, the temple became a center for the faithful in this region.

Prayer rituals are held at mid January, July, and October of the lunar calendar. Each year, tens of thousands of worshipers flood into the temple. With the large-numbers followers comes a sizeable donation. Therefore, the temple holds regular charity events to help those in need. The statues of Ksitigarbha Bodhisattva and Yama (king of the underworld) held in the temple are valuable antiques.

History Minipedia

The statue of Ksitigarbha Bodhisattva from Mt. Chiu Hua was brought to Taiwan by an anonymous gentleman in the late Ming Dynasty. In 1697, the statue of Ksitigarbha Bodhisattva was officially enshrined at the current site. Up till today, it has been over 300 years. In Kangxi 56 (1717), Commander of the Northern Camp, You Cong-Gong ordered construction of the temple, which was continuously expanded by the succeeding magistrates. Till Qianlong 25 (1760), a substantial scale began to show. Throughout the years, renovations and expansions continued, and in 1971, the temple was reconstructed into a seven-story lotus hall.


Related link :
Address: No.255, Ming Chuan Rd. , Chiayi
Tel: (05)278-2555
Share:
Gallery
Map location
Prev Next

九华山地藏庵

嘉义观光旅游网

九华山地藏庵

香火鼎盛的九华山地藏庵!

九华山地藏庵旧名为「嘉邑北岳殿地藏王 - 九华山地藏庵」

地藏庵正殿主祀地藏王菩萨,大雄宝殿主祀释迦牟尼佛,并于前庭设置太岁殿及文昌殿;大悲殿主祀观世音菩萨,弥陀殿主祀阿弥陀佛,药师殿祀药师佛,顶楼大愿殿奉祀四尊南无大愿地藏王菩萨。镇殿地藏王菩萨据传为交趾陶大师叶王的创作,宝相庄严慈悲,神恩浩荡,由于常显灵助人,保佑乡里,护民有术,遂成为最重要的信仰中心。

年度法会有上元法会、中元法会和下元法会,参与人数每次均上万人,十分的隆盛。地藏庵香火鼎盛,经常办理慈善救济,普渡众生,抚慰民心。庙内镇殿地藏王菩萨神像,以及十殿阎罗神像都是古物,极具价值。


历史小百科

九华山地藏王菩萨金身,系远于明朝末年由某善士护持来台,康熙 36 年( 1697 )择定于现址恭奉,迄今已历三百余年。康熙 56 年( 1717 )北路营守备游崇功建庵,乾隆 25 年( 1760 )知县李倓扩建,始略具规模,后经多次修建,于民国 60 年重建为七层莲花宝殿。

相关连结 :
联络地址: 嘉义市东区民权路255号
联络电话: (05)278-2555
分享:
照片花絮
地图位置
上一页 下一页