New in Ages

Travel in Chiayi

New in Ages

 “I am very interested in the preservation of historic sites and historical culture, and cultural appreciation.” CHANG, CHIA-HSIU, the CEO of New in Ages says. From the beginning she explained why she repaired a 70-year-old house and use the house to open a restaurant. “But we can't just keep the sense of history of the old house, we must also follow the pulse of the times and move on.” That’s why there is a “new” in the name of the restaurant. 

For managing the restaurant, CEO CHANG, CHIA-HSIU has her own ideas. She insists on using local ingredients on the menu and local characteristic as a theme for interior decoration of the restaurant. This does not only allow customers to eat healthy food but also appreciates the beauty of the landscape and humanities of Chiayi. For example, the ceilings of the first floor leading to second floor was painted by the artist LU, MING-SHIH. It is the starry night of Alishan, and you can see the entire Milky Way. And because the old name of “Minxiong” sounds like “hitting cat”, there are also many cat furnishings and ingenuity in the restaurant.  

With her background in nursing, she makes the most of the two-story old house space. The first floor is used as restaurant, and the second floor does not only retain the original style of Japanese wood house, but also adds a lot of new installation arts and becomes a new social media check-in place. On the second floor, a space for "foot baths" has been specially planned. She hopes that the concept of foot care can be promoted much more in Taiwan.

She does not only add many creative ideas to create and use the space, but also improve the menu of the restaurant. “Flower Cup - Take Away Meal” is improved after long time of research and development and focuses on low-carbon and environmentally-friendly. The cookie base is the shape of the flower and serve as a utensil to hold the meal, and the meal is made of the local ingredients with the classic flavor. When we praise her dedication for the implementation of environmental protection, CEO CHANG, CHIA-HSIU does not forget to mention the “Piggy Bravo Set Meal” with golden cheese lava is the most popular meal in the restaurant recently. Except for the sweet aftertaste from rice with lard, there are surprises for visual impact.  

 “Eat food in the season and use ingredients from the local” is the determination and conviction that CEO CHANG, CHIA-HSIU has always insisted on. Next time when you come here, let’s revisit the old time of the old house and experience the creativity of space creation!

Related link :
Address: No.494, Ren’ai Rd., West Dist., Chiayi City 600, Taiwan (R.O.C.)
Tel: 886-5-222-8101
Share:
Map location
Prev Next

旧时光新鲜事

嘉义观光旅游网

旧时光新鲜事

「我对于古迹、历史文化的保存和文艺欣赏都很有兴趣」,「旧时光新鲜事」的执行长张嘉秀,一开始就解释了为什么要修复70年老屋,跨领域的经营一家餐厅,「但是我们不能只保留老屋的历史感,还必须跟着时代的脉动前进」,她又补充店名注入「新鲜事」的原因。


对于经营很有自己想法的张嘉秀执行长,坚持要用在地食材入菜及在地特色元素作为内部空间装饰的主题,不仅让顾客吃得健康,还能一边欣赏嘉义的地景及人文之美。例如一楼通往二楼的天花板,由艺术家卢铭世彩绘着阿里山的星空,可以看见整个银河系;运用民雄古名「打猫」的概念,店内也有许多关于猫咪的摆设和巧思。


拥有护理背景的她,将两层楼的老屋空间发挥得淋漓尽致,一楼作为餐厅使用,二楼的场域不仅保留日式木造原味,还加上不少新的装置艺术,成为新的社交网络打卡点。二楼特别规划了「足浴」的空间,希望可以多多推广台湾足部照护的观念。


不仅在空间的创造和运用上加入许多创意,餐点的部分也不遑多让,几经研发改良的「花朵杯─带着走的排餐」更是挹注了低碳、环保的用心:利用饼干基底做出花朵的形状当作盛放餐点的器皿、以在地食材入菜的套餐更加了不少的古早味元素。在惊呼她对环保的执行上如此用心竭力之余,张嘉秀执行长不忘补充说道披有金黄起司熔岩的「小猪掌声鼓励定食」是近来店内最热卖的餐点,除了有猪油拌饭的甘甜回味,更有视觉冲击的惊喜。


「食当季,用当地」是张嘉秀执行长一直以来坚持的决心和信念,下次来这里,不妨一起重温老屋的旧时光、体验一下空间营造的创意吧!

相关连结 :
联络地址: 嘉义市西区仁爱路494号
联络电话: 886-5-222-8101
营业时间: 周一 ~ 周五 11:30–14:00、17:30–21:00 周六、日 11:00–21:00
分享:
地图位置
上一页 下一页